It's How We Play the Game: Build a Business. Take a Stand. Make a Difference.


Super Savings Item! Save 40% on the It's How We Play the Game: Build a Business. Take a Stand. Make a Difference. by Scribner at SADC Network. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. For readers of Phil Knight’s Shoe Dog and Howard Schultz’s Onward, an inspiring memoir from the CEO of DICK’s Sporting Goods about building a multibillion dollar business, coming to the defense of embattled youth sports programs, and taking a principled—and highly controversial—stand against the types of guns that are too often used in mass shootings and other tragedies.In 1948, Ed Stack's father, Richard, started Dick’s Bait and Tackle in Binghamton, New York, with $300 borrowed fro


It's How We Play the Game: Build a Business. Take a Stand. Make a Difference. by Scribner
4.5 out of 5 stars with 46 reviews
Condition: New
Availability: In Stock
$28.00
$16.97
You Save: 39%


Quantity:  

 


Product Description & Reviews

For readers of Phil Knight’s Shoe Dog and Howard Schultz’s Onward, an inspiring memoir from the CEO of DICK’s Sporting Goods about building a multibillion dollar business, coming to the defense of embattled youth sports programs, and taking a principled—and highly controversial—stand against the types of guns that are too often used in mass shootings and other tragedies.In 1948, Ed Stack's father, Richard, started Dick’s Bait and Tackle in Binghamton, New York, with $300 borrowed from his grandmother. A few years later, Dick expanded to a second location. In 1984, Ed bought the two stores from his father. Today DICK’s Sporting Goods is the largest sporting goods retailer in the country with over 800 locations and close to $9 billion in sales. It’s How We Play the Game tells the absorbing story of a complicated founder and an ambitious son—one who transformed a business by making it more than a business, conceiving it as a force for good in the communities it serves. The transformation Ed wrought wasn’t easy: economic headwinds nearly toppled the chain twice. But DICK’s support for embattled youth sports programs earned the stores surprising loyalty, and Ed was vocal in sounding the alarm about schools’ underfunding not just of sports but of other extracurriculars, which earned DICK’s even more respect. Ed’s toughest business decision came in the wake of yet another school shooting; this one at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida, in 2018. The senseless loss of life devastated Ed on many levels and he decided to take action. DICK’s became the first major retailer to pull all semi-automatic weapons from its shelves and raise the age of gun purchase to twenty-one. Despite being a gun owner himself who’d grown up around firearms, Ed’s strategy included destroying the $5 million of assault-style-type rifles then in DICK’s inventory. It was a profit-risking policy that would earn the outrage of some—even threats of harm—but turn Ed into a national hero. With vital lessons for anyone running a business and eye-opening reflections about what a company owes the people it serves, It’s How We Play the Game is the insightful story of a man who built one of America's most successful companies by following his heart.

Features & Highlights

Additional Information

Brand:
Scribner
Manufacturer:
Scribner
Category:
Memoirs
Release Date:
2019-10-08
EAN:
9781982116910
ISBN:
1982116919
Genre:
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Author:
Ed Stack
Publisher:
Scribner
Publication Date:
2019-10-08
Binding:
Hardcover
Item Weight:
1.1 pounds
Item Size:
1 x 9 x 6 inches
Package Weight:
1.09 pounds
Package Size:
6.34 x 0.98 x 9.29 inches

 


Have questions about this item (9781982116910), or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Scribner, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


ean: 9781250299437, isbn: 1250299438,
From the author of Make Your Home Among Strangers, essays on being an “accidental” American―an incisive look at the edges of identity for a woman of color in a society centered on whitenessIn this sharp and candid collection of essays, critical...

ean: 9781631494369, isbn: 1631494368,
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ''The best American political autobiography since Barack Obama’s Dreams from My Father.'' ―Charles Kaiser, The Guardian A mayor’s inspirational story of a Midwest city that has become nothing less than a blueprint for ...

ean: 9780062898548, isbn: 006289854X,
The youngest living Medal of Honor recipient delivers an unforgettable memoir that ''will inspire every reader” (Jim Mattis)On November 21, 2010, U.S. Marine Lance Corporal Kyle Carpenter was posted atop a building in violent Helmand Province,...

ean: 9780316455923, isbn: 031645592X,
From the legendary Oklahoma coach, a candid and inspiring memoir.When Bob Stoops took over as football coach in 1999, the Oklahoma Sooners were in disarray with back-to-back losing seasons. But in just two years' time, Stoops achieved the seemingly i...