Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA


Super Savings Item! Save 31% on the Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA by Knopf at SADC Network. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. “Fast and thrilling . . . Life Undercover reads as if a John le Carré character landed in Eat Pray Love.'' —The New York TimesAmaryllis Fox's riveting memoir tells the story of her ten years in the most elite clandestine ops unit of the CIA, hunting the world's most dangerous terrorists in sixteen countries while marrying and giving birth to a daughterAmaryllis Fox was in her last year as an undergraduate at Oxford studying theology and international law when her writing mentor Daniel Pear


Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA by Knopf
4.5 out of 5 stars with 49 reviews
Condition: New
Availability: In Stock
$26.95
$18.86
You Save: 30%


Quantity:  

 


Product Description & Reviews

“Fast and thrilling . . . Life Undercover reads as if a John le Carré character landed in Eat Pray Love." —The New York TimesAmaryllis Fox's riveting memoir tells the story of her ten years in the most elite clandestine ops unit of the CIA, hunting the world's most dangerous terrorists in sixteen countries while marrying and giving birth to a daughterAmaryllis Fox was in her last year as an undergraduate at Oxford studying theology and international law when her writing mentor Daniel Pearl was captured and beheaded. Galvanized by this brutality, Fox applied to a master's program in conflict and terrorism at Georgetown's School of Foreign Service, where she created an algorithm that predicted, with uncanny certainty, the likelihood of a terrorist cell arising in any village around the world. At twenty-one, she was recruited by the CIA. Her first assignment was reading and analyzing hundreds of classified cables a day from foreign governments and synthesizing them into daily briefs for the president. Her next assignment was at the Iraq desk in the Counterterrorism center. At twenty-two, she was fast-tracked into advanced operations training, sent from Langley to "the Farm," where she lived for six months in a simulated world learning how to use a Glock, how to get out of flexicuffs while locked in the trunk of a car, how to withstand torture, and the best ways to commit suicide in case of captivity. At the end of this training she was deployed as a spy under non-official cover--the most difficult and coveted job in the field as an art dealer specializing in tribal and indigenous art and sent to infiltrate terrorist networks in remote areas of the Middle East and Asia. Life Undercover is exhilarating, intimate, fiercely intelligent--an impossible to put down record of an extraordinary life, and of Amaryllis Fox's astonishing courage and passion. An Amazon Best Book of October 2019: While Amaryllis Fox’s memoir of her years as a CIA covert agent reads like a John le Carré novel come to life, the writing makes vehemently clear that a real person is moving in and out of the shadows. When the CIA recruits Fox as a Georgetown graduate student after she writes an algorithm to help predict terrorist attacks, her double life begins. After Fox goes through the weeding-out process, she’s forced to tell a good friend, also in contention for a CIA role, that she wasn’t selected. “Yeah right, I bet they just told you to say that,” the friend sagely remarks, and Fox bursts into tears, gutted by losing the last friend who knows the truth. Six months of advanced operations training at “the Farm” launches her into covert operations in the Middle East, where she’s tasked with finding would-be terrorists or terrorist suppliers and turning them into CIA sources. But marriage to another agent, a baby, and living in China while under constant supervision also take their toll. Even as Fox wins praise from Langley for her astonishing work in the field, her interior life is crumbling. Fox demonstrates not only the bravery and guts of young CIA agents—for they are almost all young—but the courage it takes to challenge whether a life of lies is a life worth living. Sparely written and gripping, Amaryllis Fox’s memoir dives into the beating heart of undercover work, illuminating its corrosive effects on the spirit even as she celebrates the humanity behind the hard-won triumphs. —Adrian Liang, Amazon Book Review

Features & Highlights

Additional Information

Manufacturer:
Knopf
Category:
Leaders & Notable People
Release Date:
2019-10-15
EAN:
9780525654971
ISBN:
0525654976
Author:
Amaryllis Fox
Publisher:
Knopf
Format:
Deckle Edge
Publication Date:
2019-10-15
Binding:
Hardcover
Item Weight:
1.15 pounds
Item Size:
1.06 x 9.59 x 5.95 inches
Package Weight:
1.12 pounds
Package Size:
5.98 x 1.18 x 9.53 inches

 


Have questions about this item (9780525654971), or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Knopf, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


ean: 9780374277727, isbn: 0374277729,
A chance encounter at a summer party on Martha’s Vineyard blossomed into an improbable but enduring friendship. Carly Simon and Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis made an unlikely pair―Carly, a free and artistic spirit still reeling from her recent divor...

ean: 9781250313577, isbn: 1250313570,
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER“In her book, Melinda tells the stories of the inspiring people she’s met through her work all over the world, digs into the data, and powerfully illustrates issues that need our attention―from child marriage to gender ...

ean: 9781501194290, isbn: 1501194291,
Rock stars and rap gods. Comedy legends and A-list actors. Supermodels and centerfolds. Moguls and mobsters. A president. Over his unrivaled four-decade career in radio, Howard Stern has interviewed thousands of personalities—discussing sex, relat...

ean: 9781250225825, isbn: 1250225825,
Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey… meet your new friend Gary Janetti.''Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart.” ― Kevin Kwan, New York Times bestselling author of the...